News: Accolades

Read the latest news from the College of Natural Sciences at The University of Texas at Austin


Chemistry Faculty Member Selected for Texas 10 Recognition

“I love watching the audience the second I blow something up. My favorite part is when I can do a demonstration, look out into the...

Kate Biberdorf


Two in CNS Receive Dads’ Association Centennial Teaching Fellowships

The fellowships recognize faculty members who have demonstrated excellence in teaching and made significant contributions to undergraduate education at UT Austin.

Steve Finkelstein and Kristin Harvey

Department of Molecular Biosciences

Zhang Named Professor of the Year

Students have selected Jessie Zhang, an associate professor of molecular biosciences, as The University of Texas at Austin's Professor of the Year.

Jessie Zhang smiling


Professor Mike Ryan Receives Lifetime Career Award

“Mike Ryan is one of the most influential animal behaviorists working in the world today, and as such is highly deserving of this lifetime award.”

Mike Ryan

Department of Computer Science

UT Recognized for Key Role in Local Tech Economy

The Austin Chamber of Commerce recognized the chair of the Department of Computer Science for his outstanding contributions toward improving the local technology sector.

Photo of a professor standing at the front of an auditorium teaching a large class in computer science.


Mathew Leibold Named Fellow of Ecological Society of America

Mathew Leibold, a professor in the Department of Integrative Biology at UT Austin, was elected a fellow by the Ecological Society of America (ESA).

Matthew Leibold at a table in front of a bookshelf


College Publication Wins UT System Award

“It’s a great publication that makes UT research and scientific inquiry accessible to alumni and the general public.”

Issues of the Texas Scientist


UT Austin Villa Wins at 2016 World RoboCup

The RoboCup competition challenges participants to program intelligent robotic systems to operate on their own in dynamic environments.

Five of the SPL team members at the 2016 RoboCup US Open, which the team won. From left to right, they are Katie Genter, Sanmit Narvekar, Josiah Hanna, Josh Kelle and Jake Menashe.


Neuroscientist Receives 2016 Regents’ Outstanding Teaching Award

The Regents’ Outstanding Teaching Award is the Board of Regents’ highest honor.

Regents Award


UT Computer Scientist Named Simons Foundation Investigator

Computer scientist David Zuckerman of The University of Texas at Austin has been selected as a 2016 Simons Investigator in Theoretical Computer Science by the...

David Zuckerman