College Leadership

Portrait of David Vanden Bout

Dean David Vanden Bout

David A. Vanden Bout is Robert E. Boyer Chair in Natural Sciences and a professor of chemistry at The University of Texas at Austin. He has served in college leadership since 2014, including overseeing undergraduate education at a time of record hikes in graduation rates and student success. He oversees the largest college at UT Austin, supporting nearly 15,000 undergraduate and graduate students, more than 700 faculty and over 1,200 staff and connections with 80,000 living alumni representing a breadth of science, math and technology disciplines. 

Learn more about the dean

View strategic plan

Kyli Linneman, Assistant to the Dean

College Leaders

Profile image of Michael Drew

Michael Drew

  • Associate Professor
  • Associate Dean for Undergraduate Education
  • Neuroscience
  • College of Natural Sciences
Profile image of Shardha Jogee

Shardha Jogee

  • Professor
  • Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs
  • Astronomy
  • College of Natural Sciences

Rex G. Baker, Jr. and McDonald Observatory Centennial Research Professorship in Astronomy
Roland K. Blumberg Endowment in Astronomy

Profile image of Dan Knopf

Dan Knopf

  • Professor
  • Associate Dean for Graduate Education
  • Mathematics
Profile image of Andreas Matouschek

Andreas Matouschek

  • Professor
  • Associate Dean for Research and Facilities
  • Molecular Biosciences
Profile image of Melissa Taylor

Melissa Taylor

  • Senior Assistant Dean for Strategy and Equity Initiatives
  • College of Natural Sciences

Ricardo Medina

  • Assistant Dean for Business Services
  • College of Natural Sciences
Profile image of Zak Richards

Zak Richards

  • Chief Development Officer
  • College of Natural Sciences
Telephone Number:4342702138
Building: WCH
Room Number:2.104
View Profile
Profile image of Christine Sinatra

Christine Sinatra

  • Director of Communications
  • College of Natural Sciences
Profile image of Mark McFarland

Mark McFarland

  • Executive Director for Information Technology
  • College of Natural Sciences

Department Chairs & Unit Directors

Profile image of Volker Bromm

Volker Bromm

  • Professor
  • Department Chair, Astronomy
  • Astronomy

Jane and Roland Blumberg Centennial Professorship in Astronomy
Josey Centennial Professorship in Astronomy
Distinguished Teaching Professor

Profile image of Jennifer Brodbelt

Jennifer Brodbelt

  • Professor
  • Department Chair, Chemistry
  • Chemistry

Larry R. Faulkner Departmental Chair for Excellence in Chemistry and Biochemistry
Rowland Pettit Centennial Chair in Chemistry
Department of Chemistry Excellence Endowment
William H. Wade Administrative Endowment in Chemistry and Biochemistry

Profile image of Don Fussell

Don Fussell

  • Professor
  • Department Chair, Computer Science
  • Computer Science

Trammell Crow Regents Professorship in Computer Science

Profile image of Gabriela L. Stein

Gabriela L. Stein

  • Professor
  • Department Chair, Human Development and Family Sciences
  • Human Development & Family Sciences
Profile image of Stephen Russell

Stephen Russell

  • Professor
  • Director, School of Human Ecology
  • Human Development & Family Sciences
Profile image of David Cannatella

David Cannatella

  • Professor
  • Department Chair, Integrative Biology
  • Associate Director for Collections, Biodiversity Center
  • Integrative Biology
  • Texas Field Station Network
Profile image of Edward Buskey

Edward Buskey

  • Professor
  • Department Chair, Marine Science
  • Director, Marine Science Institute
  • Marine Science Institute

Nancy Lee and Perry R. Bass Regents Chair in Marine Science

Profile image of Thomas Chen

Thomas Chen

  • Professor
  • Department Chair, Mathematics
  • Mathematics
Building: PMA
Room Number:12.138
View Profile
Profile image of Jeffrey M. Gross

Jeffrey M. Gross

  • Professor
  • Department Chair, Molecular Biosciences
  • Molecular Biosciences

Lorene Morrow Kelley Endowed Faculty Fellow

Profile image of Robert Messing

Robert Messing

  • Professor
  • Department Chair, Neuroscience
  • Director, Waggoner Center for Alcohol and Addiction Research
  • Neuroscience

M. June and J. Virgil Waggoner Chair in Molecular Biology
Professor of Neurology

Telephone Number:650-678-7010
Building: HDB
Room Number:5.320
View Profile
Profile image of Molly Bray

Molly Bray

  • Professor
  • Chair, Nutritional Sciences
  • Nutritional Sciences
Profile image of Pablo Laguna

Pablo Laguna

  • Professor
  • Chair, Department of Physics
  • Physics
Profile image of Catherine (Kate) Calder

Catherine (Kate) Calder

  • Professor
  • Chair, Department of Statistics and Data Sciences
  • Statistics and Data Sciences
  • College of Natural Sciences
Profile image of Michael Marder

Michael Marder

  • Professor
  • Director, UTeach
  • Physics
  • UTeach
Profile image of Taft Armandroff

Taft Armandroff

  • Professor
  • Director, McDonald Observatory
  • Astronomy

Frank and Susan Bash Endowed Chair for the Director of McDonald Observatory

Profile image of Janice A. Fischer

Janice A. Fischer

  • Professor
  • Director, Biology Instructional Office
  • Molecular Biosciences
  • Biology Instructional Office
Profile image of Lee  Clippard

Lee Clippard

  • Executive Director, Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center
  • College of Natural Sciences