News: Accolades

Read the latest news from the College of Natural Sciences at The University of Texas at Austin


Chemistry Professor Receives Sloan Research Fellowship and Mark Young Scholar Award

UT Austin’s Zachariah Page was selected as a Sloan Research Fellow and won a top ACS young scholar award for 2024.

Image of Zak Page


MacDonald Announced as Winner of Inaugural Hill Prize in Physical Sciences

Allan MacDonald of The University of Texas at Austin received the award for research with high-impact potential.

A man in a blue collared shirt sits at a desk with paperwork, smiling as he leans on his hand, chalkboard with equations behind him.


Zuckerman Receives the NAS Michael and Sheila Held Prize

David Zuckerman is a professor of computer science whose research focuses primarily on pseudorandomness and the role of randomness in computing.

A scientist sits at a desk writing


UT Austin Physicists Receive Keck Foundation Boost for Quantum Materials Research

Edoardo Baldini leads a team developing a new approach to stabilize useful quantum properties of atomically thin materials for far longer and at higher temperatures.

Headshots of two scientists are in the foreground, while an illustration of a quantum cavity is in the background

Office of the Executive Vice President and Provost

Two Members of Natural Sciences Named to UT Austin’s Academy of Distinguished Teachers

Ruth Buskirk and Michael Marder are among the 2023 inductees to The University of Texas at Austin’s prestigious Academy of Distinguished Teachers.

Ruth Buskirk and Michael Marder

Oden Institute & Department of Computer Science

Keshav Pingali Receives Ken Kennedy Award for High Performance and Parallel Computing

IEEE has announced its 2023 Ken Kennedy Award for University of Texas at Austin computer scientist Keshav Pingali.

A man in a collared shirt and glasses in a building with chairs and glass behind him


Computer Scientist Inducted into Internet Hall of Fame

Simon Lam has been inducted into the Internet Hall of Fame for creating the first secure sockets layer in 1993 for internet applications.

Portrait of a scientist


Starbird, Martines and Dillig Selected for Texas 10 Recognition

Three faculty members in the College of Natural Sciences were chosen for an honor given by The Alcalde.

Theresa Martines, Işıl Dillig and Michael Starbird


Plant Biologist Awarded Stephen Hales Prize

Keiko Torii received the prize in recognition of her outstanding contributions in the field.

Profile Image of Keiko Torii

Science News

Muñoz Named Among Science News’ SN 10 List of Scientists to Watch

The scientist developed a ruler with the power to size up the early university and shed light on the cosmic dawn.

A bearded man in a patterned collared shirt stands in a building in front of a window