News: Accolades

Read the latest news from the College of Natural Sciences at The University of Texas at Austin


Caroline Morley Receives Annie Jump Cannon Award

The American Astronomical Society (AAS) selected Morley for outstanding research and promise for future research.

Caroline Morley wearing glasses and earrings and smiling


Allan MacDonald Wins Wolf Prize in Physics

UT Austin's Allan MacDonald has received the 2020 Wolf Prize which is generally considered the most prestigious award in physics other han the Nobel Prize.

Allan Wolf wears a Wolf Prize medal as UT President Jay Hartzell applauds


Physicist Mark Raizen Named Fellow of AAAS

Mark Raizen, a professor in the Department of Physics, has been named a 2019 AAAS Fellow for his pioneering research.

Mark Raizen in glasses in front of physics lab equipment


Microbe Research Team Awarded Gold Medal at 2019 iGEM Competition

Students accept award on stage from three people dressed in formal wear


Karen Uhlenbeck Awarded Steele Prize for Lifetime Achievement

Karen Uhlenbeck stands in front of a blackboard with mathematical formulas written in chalk behind her


Meet the 2019 Hall of Honor Inductees

Three College of Natural Sciences alumni were selected for induction into the college's 2019 Hall of Honor.

Glass awards on a white table in front of a floral arrangement


Michael Krische Receives American Chemical Society Award

The award comes from the largest scientific society in the world.

Michael Krische


College Undergraduate Dean Wins National Award for Inclusive Leadership

Vanden Bout received the 2019 Inclusive Leader Award from GlobalMindED, a national nonprofit organization that aims to improve education and employment opportunities for students who are...

David Vanden Bout in tie in office in front of chemistry displays