NSF Awards Graduate Research Fellowships to 22 UT Natural Sciences Students

April 27, 2022 • by Sophia Kurz

Eleven graduate and one undergraduate student of UT Austin's College of Natural Sciences were awarded honorable mentions by the National Science Foundation.

Headshots of more than a dozen graduate students

The National Science Foundation (NSF) awards a Graduate Research Fellowship to students who plan on pursuing a research-based master's or Ph.D. program in a STEM-related field. The fellowship is awarded to exceptional individuals and will support them in elevating their research with the goal of furthering advancements that will transform the future.

​This year, the program awarded 22 fellowships to four undergraduate and eighteen graduate students in the College of Natural Sciences. What's more, eleven graduate and one undergraduate student were awarded honorable mentions.

This year's College of Natural Sciences fellows and honorable mentions are listed below:

Current Student Fellowship Recipients:

Amanda Ann Adkins, Computer Science - Robotics and Computer Vision

Sofia Guajardo Beskid, Life Sciences - Evolutionary Biology

Sanjit Bhat, Computer Science - Computer Systems and Embedded Systems

Kevin Black, Computer Science - Artificial Intelligence

Katherine Chworowsky, Physics/Astronomy - Astronomy and Astrophysics

Kyra Jean Cipolla, Geosciences - Marine Biology

Olivia Rae Cooper, Physics/Astronomy - Astronomy and Astrophysics

Antonio Cordova, Life Sciences - Biochemistry

Kenneth DeMason, Math - Geometric Analysis

Brianna Isabelle Flynn, Life Sciences - Bioinformatics and Computational Biology

Valeria Garcia, Life Sciences - Biochemistry

Lindsay R. House, Physics/Astronomy - Astronomy and Astrophysics

Yeongwoo Hwang, Computer Science - Quantum Computing and Communication

Dylan Le, Life Sciences - Neurosciences

Alexander Jui-An Lin, Chemistry - Chemistry of Life Processes

Maile Marie Marriott, Physics/Astronomy - Astronomy and Astrophysics

Melman Neill, Marine Science - Coral Reef Ecology

Delon Liu Shen, Physics/Astronomy - Particle Physics

Rachel Roday, Geosciences - Marine Biology

Madison Schumm, Geosciences - Marine Biology

Olivia Smith, Life Sciences - Evolutionary Biology

Jacquelyn Taylor Wright, Life Sciences - Biochemistry


Honorable Mentions:

Berit Eleni Batterton, Life Sciences - Environmental Biology

Jeffrey Lerner Coleman, Life Sciences - Evolutionary Biology

Vinayak Mahesh Kumar, Computer Science - Algorithms and Theoretical Foundations

Christopher Patrick Layden, Physics/Astronomy - Astronomy and Astrophysics

Whitney Lewis, Chemistry - Chemistry of Life Processes

Kendra Diane Maclaine, Life Sciences - Bioinformatics and Computational Biology

Wuilian Antonio Martinez, Chemistry - Sustainable Chemistry

Keldy Stephen Mason, Chemistry - Macromolecular, Supramolecular, and Nanochemistry

Kevin Matthews, Chemistry - Chemistry of Materials

Ryan Seamus McCool, Life Sciences - Structural Biology

Laila Elaine Phillips, Life Sciences - Microbial Biology

Caroline Linjun Wang, Computer Science - Artificial Intelligence