Button to scroll to the top of the page.


From the College of Natural Sciences
Font size: +

Three Members of Natural Sciences Recognized for Teaching Excellence

Three Members of Natural Sciences Recognized for Teaching Excellence

Three members of the College of Natural Sciences at The University of Texas at Austin have been inducted into the University's respected Academy of Distinguished Teachers for 2016.

They are:

The academy was established in 1995 to honor and reward excellence in teaching by recognizing tenured faculty members who have continuously provided significant contributions to education throughout their career, especially at the undergraduate level. 

New members of the Academy are chosen each year in a rigorous process. Faculty members are nominated by the dean of their college or school and a committee composed of current Academy members, students and other faculty reviews the nominations. The provost then uses the committee's recommendations to make the final selections.

Honorees receive the title "University Distinguished Teaching Professor" and a permanent $7,000 annual academic salary increase, which takes effect the following academic year. A banquet will be held in the fall to welcome the newest inductees of the Academy and present them with a certificate and bronze medallion.

Four other faculty members at UT Austin were also chosen: Courtney Byrd from the Moody College of Communication, Robert Gilbert from the Cockrell School of Engineering, Barbara Jones from the School of Social Work and E. Christopher Kirk from the Department of Anthropology.

As part of the university's commitment to excellence in teaching, members of the Academy advise the president and provost on how to enhance the undergraduate learning experience and improve teaching effectiveness. Members also participate in seminars, colloquia and workshops on teaching effectiveness and serve as mentors to new faculty.

A full list of members from the College of Natural Sciences can be found here.

Lorenzo Alvisi
Volker Bromm
Philip Uri Treisman
Computer Scientist Earns Prestigious ACM Award for...
Last Week of Class


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment
Already Registered? Login Here
Thursday, 08 December 2022

Captcha Image