Computer Scientist Named to UT Austin’s Academy of Distinguished Teachers

June 1, 2017 • by Steven E. Franklin

Kristen Grauman, associate professor in the Department of Computer Science, has been inducted into The University of Texas at Austin’s respected Academy of Distinguished Teachers for 2017.

Kristen Grauman

The Academy, one of the first organizations of its kind in the country, was established in 1995 to honor and reward excellence in teaching by recognizing tenured faculty members who have continuously provided significant contributions to education throughout their career, especially at the undergraduate level.

New members of the Academy are selected in a rigorous evaluation process. Faculty members are nominated by the dean of their college or school and then reviewed by a committee composed of current Academy members, other faculty members, students and university administrators. The provost then uses the committee’s recommendations to make the final selections.

Comprising approximately five percent of the tenured faculty in the university, the Academy provides leadership in improving the quality and depth of the undergraduate experience. Members advise the president and provost on matters related to the university’s instructional mission; participate in seminars, colloquia, and workshops on teaching effectiveness; and serve as mentors to new faculty.

Honorees are awarded the title Distinguished Teaching Professor, and serve for the duration of their tenure at UT Austin. Each member receives a permanent $7,000 annual academic salary increase, which takes effect the following academic year.

Five other faculty members at UT Austin were also chosen for induction: James Cox from the College of Liberal Arts, Tracy Dahlby from the Moody College of Communication, Janet Davis from the College of Liberal Arts, Marianne Gedigian from the College of Fine Arts and Kumar Muthuraman from McCombs School of Business.

A banquet will be held in the fall to welcome the newest inductees of the Academy.

A full list of members from the College of Natural Sciences can be found here.


profile pic of kristen grauman


Computer Science Professor Earns Industry Award

Portraits of three men


Three Faculty Members Awarded Sloan Fellowships

Portrait of a man


Pingali Receives Prestigious Parallel Computing Award