Button to scroll to the top of the page.


From the College of Natural Sciences
Font size: +

UT Researchers Honored at Neuroscience 2019 Conference

UT Researchers Honored at Neuroscience 2019 Conference

The Society for Neuroscience honored two University of Texas at Austin researchers at its annual conference, Neuroscience 2019. The conference is an opportunity for neuroscientists to present research findings, connect with experts and explore new technologies.

Manyi Yim

Out of over 14,000 submissions, the Society for Neuroscience chooses 100 newsworthy presentations to showcase at the conference. Research associate Jason Samonds' presentation over 3D perception in mice was chosen as one of these topics. Samond's research uses a setup similar to a miniature 3D movie theater to demonstrate that mice can recognize 3D surfaces, albeit in a different way than humans and primates that allows them to view a large three dimensional space all at once.

Additionally, postdoctoral research fellow Manyi Yim was selected by the Society for Neuroscience as one of 15 neuroscience trainees in the inaugural class of the Leadership Development Program, a pilot program that offers professional development training for future leaders in the field of brain science. Recipients were chosen based off a group of graduate and postdoctoral awardees of the Society's Trainee Professional Development Award.

Jason Samonds

Samonds joined UT Austin in June 2015 in the Center for Learning and Memory and does research with associate professor of neuroscience Nicholas Priebe. 

Yim joined the Center for Theoretical and Computational Neuroscience at UT Austin in 2017 as a postdoctoral research fellow. Yim researches the functions of brain circuits as well as neural correlates of cognition based on experimental data, and develops models and theories to understand the underlying mechanisms.

Neuroscience 2019, the Society for Neuroscience's 49th annual meeting, takes place October 19-23 in Chicago.

Gift to UT Austin Will Advance Programs in Biodive...
Karen Uhlenbeck Awarded Steele Prize for Lifetime ...


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment
Already Registered? Login Here
Tuesday, 31 January 2023

Captcha Image