Button to scroll to the top of the page.


From the College of Natural Sciences

Recognize Excellent Alumni and Friends of Texas Science

This message to the College of Natural Sciences community invites nominations for individuals to induct into the college's 2019 Hall of Honor.

Do you know the common thread that ties together two recent winners of the Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine, the only woman to represent Texas in the U.S. Senate, the leader of NASA's New Horizons Space mission and a famous 97-year-old style icon?

The answer is that all of these individuals—Michael Young, Jim Allison, Kay Bailey Hutchison, Alan Stern, and Iris Apfel—are members of the College of Natural Sciences' Hall of Honor. These distinguished alumni and dedicated friends of UT Austin reflect the remarkable achievements of our diverse Texas Science community.

Nominations are now open for the 2019 Hall of Honor awards, and I encourage you to explore who would be deserving of next year's Distinguished Service, Distinguished Alumni or Emerging Leader awards. We appreciate your help in nominating outstanding individuals from the college's alumni and supporter base across departments.

More information and nomination forms can be found here. The application deadline is Friday, February 1, 2019. Please contact Marsha Reardon in the Office of Development if you have questions or ideas for nominees: (512) 232.4470 or mreardon@austin.utexas.edu.

Honoring and promoting the college's best and brightest alumni and supporters is only one aspect of recognition efforts in the college and at UT. In the months ahead, you'll receive notifications about opportunities to place nominations for college awards for people from within our community—faculty, staff and students. I hope you'll choose to grasp these opportunities to recognize excellence from within the college.

With Thanksgiving upon us, it is a pleasure for me to express my sincere gratitude for all of the amazing individuals who make this college what it is: your research, teaching and hard work do not go unnoticed. As you take time to nominate others for awards, thank you in advance for helping us to identify the distinctive contributions of members of our Natural Sciences community whose leadership, service and achievements leave an indelible imprint, here on the Forty Acres and beyond.

UT Austin Chemist Livia Eberlin Named a Moore Inve...
Distinction in Service & Leadership


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment
Already Registered? Login Here
Friday, 27 January 2023

Captcha Image