Button to scroll to the top of the page.


From the College of Natural Sciences
Font size: +

Neuroscientists Win University Teaching Awards

Neuroscientists Win University Teaching Awards
Neuroscience professors Nace Golding (left) and Michael Mauk (right) both won university-wide teaching awards.

Within days of each other, two professors of neuroscience and one undergraduate teaching assistant have won University of Texas at Austin teaching awards.

Professor Nace Golding has won the Jean Holloway Award for Teaching Excellence, an annual honor for one teacher in the College of Liberal Arts or College of Natural Sciences selected entirely by students from the two colleges.

Michael Mauk, professor and chair of the Department of Neuroscience, has won the Professor of the Semester Award from the university's Senate of College Councils (SCC), an organization that represents students in academic affairs and provides student opinions on academic issues to the University's administration. Rachel Langan, an undergraduate teaching assistant graduating this May, has won the TA of the Semester Award, also from the SCC.

"Nace is entirely deserving of such recognition given his innovative efforts to make the neurophysiology lab courses involve real (i.e., new) experiments with published abstracts and visits by the students to the Society for Neuroscience meeting," Mauk said.

Each year, the SCC selects two individuals university-wide to be honored as Professor of the Semester, one for the fall and one for the spring semester. The awards honor individuals who demonstrate "outstanding teaching ability and a commitment to their students and the university."

On Monday, April 8, President Greg Fenves joined student government leaders in honoring Mauk and other SCC awardees.
Congratulations 2019 President's Staff Service and...
The Tool Maker: The Double Life of Everett Stone


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment
Already Registered? Login Here
Thursday, 09 February 2023

Captcha Image