Button to scroll to the top of the page.


From the College of Natural Sciences
Font size: +

Jonathan Sessler Elected to National Academy of Sciences

Jonathan Sessler Elected to National Academy of Sciences

Chemist Jonathan L. Sessler of The University of Texas at Austin has been elected to the National Academy of Sciences. The academy is the country's most prestigious scientific organization, and election to it is one of the highest honors for American researchers.

Sessler, UT Austin anthropologist Anthony Di Fiore and UT marine science alumna Nancy Rabalais are among 120 new national inductees announced this week in recognition of distinguished and continuing achievements in original scientific research. 

Sessler holds the R. P. Doherty, Jr. - Welch Regents Chair in Chemistry in the College of Natural Sciences. Specializing in the engineering of molecules, Sessler — a two-time cancer survivor—developed a class of experimental drugs that target cancerous tumors, helping to earn him previous election to the National Academy of Inventors.

The texaphyrins molecules he developed led to the creation of a pharmaceutical research company, Pharmacyclics Inc., which was later sold for $21 billion due to its success in cancer drug development. Sessler is the inventor of dozens of U.S.-issued patents on technologies relevant to drug development and medicine and has co-authored about 700 research publications and two books. Since joining the Department of Chemistry faculty in 1984, Sessler has received research grants from the Department of Energy, the National Institutes of Health, the Cancer Prevention and Research Institute of Texas, the National Science Foundation, the Welch Foundation and others. 

The National Academy of Sciences is a private, nonprofit institution established under a congressional charter signed by President Abraham Lincoln in 1863. It recognizes achievement in science by election to membership and — with the National Academy of Engineering, National Academy of Medicine and National Research Council — provides science, technology and health policy advice to the federal government and other organizations.

Jonathan Sessler and Anthony Di Fiore, both of UT Austin, were elected to the National Academy of Sciences.

"Induction of our two faculty members in the National Academy of Sciences is a reflection of high-caliber research and innovation produced at UT Austin. The scientific accomplishments of Anthony Di Fiore and Jonathan Sessler in their respective fields of anthropology and chemistry exemplify the type of impact we aim to have at the university," said Dan Jaffe, interim executive vice president and provost.

Di Fiore, department chair and professor of anthropology, holds the Dallas TACA Centennial Fellowship in the Liberal Arts. As a primate evolutionary biologist and geneticist, he conducts field research focusing on New World primates to understand the ways in which behavior and social systems are shaped by environmental pressures. This is a crucial and central focus in evolutionary anthropology. A major portion of his field research takes place in the Yasuní Biosphere Reserve in Amazonian Ecuador, a site of global diversity and conservation significance. In his Primate Molecular Ecology and Evolution Lab, he complements his field studies and addresses issues that are typically difficult to explore through observational studies alone. Through the use molecular genetic and genomic techniques, he investigates broader questions concerning the evolutionary history, social systems and ecological roles of various New World primates.

Sessler is the 17th current faculty member from UT Austin's College of Natural Sciences elected to the academy. View a list of other members of the National Academies in the College of Natural Sciences.

Hepatitis C Drugs Boost Remdesivir’s Antiviral Act...
Finish Strong


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment
Already Registered? Login Here
Saturday, 04 February 2023

Captcha Image