Button to scroll to the top of the page.


From the College of Natural Sciences

ICMB Leadership and Graduate Programs to Affiliate with the Department of Molecular Biosciences

​Dean Goldbart informed members of the Institute for Cellular and Molecular Biology and the Molecular Biosciences Department community about some upcoming changes.

For over 20 years, the Institute for Cellular and Molecular Biology has built and supported strong, interdisciplinary and groundbreaking research by bridging diverse colleges, schools and departments at The University of Texas at Austin. I write to let you know about the College of Natural Sciences' plan to transition the administration and leadership of the ICMB, while assuring ICMB's continued flourishing as an interdisciplinary engine.

First, I want to let you know that Jon Huibregtse has indicated that he will be stepping down as director of ICMB on September 1. Since 2016, Jon has overseen the vital work to bridge diverse research endeavors in the biological and biomedical sciences. I am grateful to Jon for his leadership and support of the invigorating scientific research at the heart of ICMB.

With the aim of ensuring UT Austin offers world-class graduate programs in the life sciences and provides integrated administrative support, effective September 1, the College will shift the ICMB and its constituent graduate programs – biochemistry, microbiology and cell and molecular biology – to the Department of Molecular Biosciences. This positioning also allows for continued improvement in the three programs through optimal alignment with both academic leadership structures and the faculty who guide, train and mentor graduate students in the three programs. Department chair Dan Leahy has appointed Jason McLellan to serve as the department's inaugural associate chair for graduate education, and he will also oversee the ICMB, which will continue to serve as the umbrella for these three programs.

I – along with Dan and Jason – remain fully committed to ensuring that ICMB continues to serve as UT Austin's interdisciplinary hub for research that connects and enriches all molecular life sciences endeavors.

Best regards,

Paul M. Goldbart, Dean, College of Natural Sciences
Robert E. Boyer Chair
Mary Ann Rankin Leadership Chair
The University of Texas at Austin
120 Inner Campus Drive (G2500), Austin, TX 78712

Meet Melissa Kemp, Time Traveler
Pangolin: An Efficient and Flexible Graph Pattern ...


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment
Already Registered? Login Here
Saturday, 04 February 2023

Captcha Image