Button to scroll to the top of the page.


From the College of Natural Sciences
Font size: +

Have Your Voice Heard in CNS!‏

Have Your Voice Heard in CNS!‏

There are numerous ways to get involved in the college as a student leader. 

Dear students,

The Natural Sciences Council student organization invites you to attend the Fall 2013

CNS Town Hall Meeting.
5-6 p.m, Monday, November 11.

Students may participate in an interactive discussion on current events and issues in the college. A panel consisting of much of the leadership will be on hand to answer your questions, including

-Dr. Linda Hicke, Dean of the College 
-Dr. Sacha Kopp, Associate Dean for Undergraduate Education 
-Dr. Mike Raney, Assistant Dean for Academic Advising
-Lesley Riley, Director of the Health Professions Office

The format will be an open question and answer session on any issues on your mind about the college, courses, academics, student opportunities, the priorities of the leadership in the college, etc. All students from CNS are welcome.

The College is an academic learning community in which each of us has important perspectives. Meetings like this town hall are opportunities to share constructive ideas, provide feedback, and work together to chart a best course. Developing such an approach to discourse is one of those things that makes our society special and hopefully carries over to our public life. We here in the College treasure this place and the potential it has to do great things. We look forward to a good conversation tomorrow.

Have a great week,
-- Dr. Kopp

PS: Each week I try to let you know of the week's events, scholarship opportunities, lectures, etc. Check out the full week's line-up at this link.

PPS: In a further effort to solicit student feedback, the college this year will go through its bi-annual "College Tuition and Budget Advisory Council" (CTBAC) process. Every 2 years, each college at UT hears feedback from students about priorities, programs for students, etc. Chaired by the president of NSC, members of CTBAC were selected by NSC and SG and they are:
-Juan Herrejon, Chair, Human Biology
-Junho Ahn, SG Representative, Public Health
-Hayden Andrews, Biochemistry
-Alice Chen, Public Health & Sociology
-Mira Gandhi, Chemistry & Biology
-Ellis Michael, Computer Science
-Maggie Miller, Math
-Pooja Prabhakar, Economics & Biology
-Amanda Turbyfill, Astronomy & Physics

You may contact them using the email address cnsctbac@gmail.com. CTBAC will host a series of separate town halls/discussion forum events, followed by small focus group discussions. The first of these will be on November 18 in WEL 1.308 5-6pm and will address hybrid or "flipped" classroom teaching and the use of online technology in teaching. Additional discussion topics will be announced over the next few weeks.

This Longhorn Has Been Brought to You by DNA
Flipped Classes, Teaching and Learning‏


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment
Already Registered? Login Here
Sunday, 29 May 2022

Captcha Image