Button to scroll to the top of the page.


From the College of Natural Sciences
Font size: +

Aldrich and Burger Appointed to University-Wide Council

 Aldrich and Burger Appointed to University-Wide Council
Dr. Rick Aldrich

Dr. Doug Burger

AUSTIN, Texas--Dr. Richard Aldrich, chair of neurobiology, and Dr. Douglas Burger, associate professor of computer sciences, have been appointed to a newly formed university-wide council to advise the president and develop a strategic and business plan for the university.

The Policy and Planning Advisory Council will advise President Powers on major issues affecting The University of Texas at Austin’s long-term goals, major budget issues and priorities, and strategic decisions.

“Several existing groups advise me on these issues, but they do not have broad representation,” said Powers. The university will benefit from a council that does have broader representation, but is still small enough to make decisions in a timely manner.”

The council will be composed of two faculty members, four deans, one department chair from a college not represented by a dean on the council, the vice president and chief financial officer, the vice president of employee and campus services, one additional vice president, a student, a member of the staff, and the provost.  The executive vice provost and the deputy to the president will serve as ex-officio members.

The initial council members are:

  • Professor Richard W. Aldrich, Natural Sciences (Chair, Section of Neurobiology)

  • Professor Douglas C. Burger, Natural Sciences (Computer Sciences)

  • Dr. Pat L. Clubb, Vice President for Employee and Campus Services

  • Dean Randy L. Diehl, Liberal Arts

  • Professor Linda L. Golden, McCombs School (Marketing)

  • Dean Roderick P. Hart, Communication

  • Mr. Kevin P. Hegarty, Vice President and Chief Financial Officer

  • Dr. LaToya Hill, Office of the Dean of Students (Emergency Services Coordinator)

  • Dr. Steven W. Leslie, Executive Vice President & Provost

  • Dr. Juan M. Sanchez, Vice President for Research

  • Dean Ben G. Streetman, Engineering

  • Ms. Nicole E. Trinh, Vice President of Student Government (Human Ecology)

  • Dean Barbara W. White, Social Work

Ex officio members:

  • Dr. Stephen Monti, Executive Vice Provost

  • Dr. Charles A. Roeckle, Deputy to the President

In a letter sent to the university community last week, Powers stated the need to target strategic priorities and stay focused on them to close the gap between The University of Texas at Austin and institutions recognized as the premier public universities in the nation. This will require hard financial choices, and the Policy and Planning Advisory Council will be called upon to set priorities and to help make the difficult decisions that will enable the university to achieve its goals.

“Collectively, these individuals possess a tremendous body of expertise,” said Powers. “I intend to rely on their counsel on issues that affect us all.”
The Virtual Brain
Chemist Hackerman Dies


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment
Already Registered? Login Here
Tuesday, 07 February 2023

Captcha Image