Button to scroll to the top of the page.

Friends, former students and colleagues of Professor Jonathan Sessler have joined together to establish the Jonathan L. Sessler Endowed Graduate Student Fellowship in Chemistry. The endowment will be a tribute to Dr. Sessler’s 30 years of research, teaching, and service. Sessler has written extensively, authoring or co-authoring over 350 publications. In addition, he has co-authored two books and edited a third. He holds more than 70 U.S. patents. Dr. Sessler has received many awards and much recognition, as a Sloan Fellow (1999), Fellow of the AAAS (1999), Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar (1999), ACS Cope Scholar (1999), recipient of the JSPS and Alexander von Humboldt Senior Fellowships (1999), and winner of the Izatt-Christensen Award (1999).  The endowment will support, in perpetuity, the Department of Chemistry at The University of Texas at Austin.  This endowment requires gifts and pledges of $50,000 to reach its goal.  All pledges in support of the Sessler Fellowship may be paid over a five-year window.

Funds distributed annually from the Jonathan L. Sessler Endowed Graduate Student Fellowship in Chemistry will be used to support graduate students studying chemistry at the University. This support will allow the College to grow the next generation of chemists and will greatly enhance the programmatic experience.

In light of the extraordinary opportunity to establish a named fellowship in honor of Jonathan Sessler, the College of Natural Sciences looks to the former students, friends and colleagues of Dr. Sessler to support this initiative.  Dr. Sessler’s impact on UT and the chemistry department has been profound, and his research in the field of bioorganic and drug discovery chemistry has made significant impacts in the study of chemistry.

"My time in Jonathan's lab was a highlight of my undergraduate educational experience at Texas.  His research group launched me on a strong trajectory for graduate school and beyond, and I am grateful for his continued mentorship and friendship.  It is an honor for me to contribute to his legacy at Texas in this way." -- Darren W. Johnson, Professor of Chemistry at the University of Oregon

"Jonathan has been a long time leader in supramolecular chemistry and molecular recognition. He was an excellent mentor for me and being in his group taught me great deal about creativity in chemistry and finding opportunity where you make it. This fellowship is a great way that we can leave a legacy in his honor.” -- Anne Gorden, Associate Professor at Auburn University 

Learn more about this opportunity, download a pledge form, or make your gift online at txsci.net/SesslerGradFellowship.

Questions? Please call Sarah Heier at 512-471-3299 or email sarah.heier@austin.utexas.edu.


Thank you to our donors!

Dr. Christopher M. Bejger
Dr. Jiajia Cai
Won-Seob Cho, Ph.D.
Dr. Philip A. Gale, Ph.D.
Dr. Amanda E. Hargrove
Darren W. Johnson, Ph.D.
Dr. Elizabeth T. Karnas
Mr. Thomas Koehler
Yuji Kubo, Ph.D.
Candace M. Lawrence
Darren J. Magda, Ph.D.
Tarak D. Mody, Ph.D.
Dr. Kenneth N. Raymond
Dr. Vladimir Roznyatovskiy
Dr. David Sanchez-Garcia
Petra I. Sansom, Ph.D.
Daniel Seidel, Ph.D.


 Jonathan Sessler
Dr. Jonathan Sessler