Button to scroll to the top of the page.


Diversity & Inclusivity Mission Statement

In the EEB/PB Graduate Program, we embrace and encourage diversity in many forms and are committed to inclusivity among our community members, including all students, staff, and faculty. We define diversity as people of different backgrounds, races, nationalities, genders, sexual orientations, beliefs, religions, socio-economic statuses, and more, and inclusivity as an approach where we respect, welcome, encourage, and engage diverse perspectives. Our strength and successas a graduate program, department, and university, is built on the foundation of a wide range of perspectives and experiences.

Diversity & Inclusivity Committee

Role of the committee: The committee engages in two main efforts (1) to address concerns or complaints about isolation, bias, harassment, mentor-student conflict, or any other inclusivity-related challenge, and (2) to assist in the support of prospective, incoming, and current graduate students through mentorship and community-building.  All graduate students are encouraged to speak with one or more committee members, and/or the GSC Chair (Dan Bolnick), Graduate Advisor (Mathew Leibold) or Grad Coordinator (Tamra Rogers) about any concerns. The committee will hold all concerns in confidence and will coordinate with students on how to proceed.

Campus Resources: The Diversity and Inclusivity committee utilizes university level resources to navigate the challenges of equity and discrimination through the Office for Inclusion and Equity (http://equity.utexas.edu/) and the Campus Climate Response Team (http://diversity.utexas.edu/ccrt/) at UT, both of which investigate and resolve complaints of discrimination. Specifically, we interact with UT’s Division of Diversity and Community Engagement (http://diversity.utexas.edu/), which provides more than 40 programs and initiatives to support diversity and inclusivity on campus and within our community.

Faculty representatives:

Shalene Jha (sjha@austin.utexas.edu)

Norma Fowler (nfowler@austin.utexas.edu)

Steve Phelps (sphelps@austin.utexas.edu)

Mike Ryan (mryan@utexas.edu)

Graduate Student representatives:

Yasmin Shirali (yshirali@utexas.edu)

Kelly Wallace (kwallace@utexas.edu)

Serena Zhao (syzhao@utexas.edu)