The College of Natural Sciences underwent a comprehensive strategic-planning process in 2012-13 to identify and establish the strategic priorities of the College and our departments.  Our on-going and new initiatives are driven by three primary objectives:  Develop Leaders, Promote Discovery and Create Impact.  


Annual report

College of Natural Sciences Annual Reports

cns ar 2016 Annual Report (2015–2016)

cns ar 2015 Annual Report (2014–2015)

cns ar 2014 Annual Report (2013–2014)


Strategic Plan

College of Natural Science Strategic Plan (2013)

Download PDF

View Strategic Goals
Prepare the Next Generation of Scientists and Citizens
Develop Leaders in the College Community
Promote Innovation and Shape the Future of Science
Strengthen Texas, the Nation and the World

Implementation Updates
College and Department Actions 



Aligning College Resources with Departmental and College Strategic Plans

Dean Hicke has created a College Budget Council (CBC) to increase the level of collaborative decision-making in how College resources are strategically deployed to help meet and enhance the goals of our departments and our Dean’s office operations. Each department chair (along with four major units within the Dean’s office) has been invited to present to the CBC. Dean Hicke welcomes long-term planning as part of this process.


• 45-minute presentation period for each department/unit
• Chair’s 15-minute power-point, high-level summary of goals and funding strategies.
• Remaining 30 minutes will be used for discussion or question of the Chair.

Funding Outcomes

Any reallocation of existing funds, or commitment of new funds, will be determined by Dean Hicke with the advisement of the CBC, with the goal of reflecting these budget changes in the mid-March budget cycle for hte next academic year.

Budget Council Members (2016-17)

Linda Hicke, Dean; David Lambert, Professor, Department of Astronomy; Bill Press, Professor, Department of Computer Science and Integrative Biology; Tanya Paull, Professor, Department of Molecular Biosciences; Allan MacDonald, Physics; Shelley Payne, Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs; Dan Knopf, Associate Dean for Graduate Education; Dean Appling, Associate Dean for Research and Facilities; David Vandenbout, Associate Dean for Undergraduate Education; Ricardo Medina, Assistant Dean for Business Affairs; 

College Budget Council