Button to scroll to the top of the page.

Hall of Honor History


The Hall of Honor was established in January 1991 by Dean Robert E. Boyer who wanted to recognize outstanding individuals who had distinguished themselves professionally and through demonstrated support and interest in the College of Natural Sciences.

The inaugural year, five extraordinary individuals were selected to receive the Hall of Honor award. Then-President, William H. Cunningham, presented the awards during a luncheon on Friday, April 5, 1991 to heart surgeon Dr. Denton Cooley, former University President Norman Hackerman, Shell Oil Co. President John Bookout, retired Standard Oil Co. executive Thomas Barrow, and writer and artist Jean Andrews, all UT Austin alumni. As of April 2013, fifty-four remarkable individuals, including alumni, former students, emeriti, and faculty, as well as corporate, academic, community and government leaders have been inducted in the Hall of Honor.

In 2014, Dean Linda Hicke expanded the program to include alumni awards. Now, there are three award categories in the Hall of Honor program: Emerging Leader, Distinguished Alumnus, and Distinguished Service.


Hall of Honor 2019 Awards (photos)

Hall of Honor 2018 Awards (photos)

Hall of Honor 2017 Awards (photos)

Hall of Honor 2016 Awards (photos)

Hall of Honor 2015 Awards (photos)

Hall of Honor 2014 Awards (photos)

Hall of Honor 2013 Awards (photos)