Committees and Resources

We know we are stronger for the diverse community of rigorous thinkers and doers who come together here, bound by a shared passion for science.

Advancing Belonging Together

Our academic disciplines in science, math and technology require many perspectives and backgrounds to achieve the excellence we’re known for. Several committees and efforts support the work to build belonging for everyone.

College Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Committee

Committee Members - 2022–2023

Calvin Lin, Committee Chair, Professor, Computer Science
Eric Abelson, Research Scientist, Department of Integrative Biology
Jose Alvarado, Assistant Professor, Physics
Bianca Busogi, DEI Chair Natural Sciences Council
Mirela Ciperiani, Associate Professor, Mathematics
Luisa Gil Fandino, Assistant Professor of Instruction, Textiles
Antonio Gonzalez, Associate Professor, Molecular Biosciences
Tonia Guida, Assistant Professor of Instruction, Diversity and Student Programs
Monica Hall-Porter, Director of TIP Scholars
Thushani Herath, Associate Professor of Instruction, Chemistry
Tepera Holman, Assistant Dean for Diversity and Student Programs
Blinda McClelland, Associate Professor of Instruction, Biology Instruction Office
Dong-Ha Min, Associate Professor of Instruction, Marine Science
Emily Que, Associate Professor, Chemistry
Stacia Rodenbusch, Assistant Professor of instruction
Lorraine Scott, Doctoral Candidate, Human Development and Family Science
Melissa Taylor, Senior Asst. Dean for Strategy and Equity Initiatives
Aditya Tewari, Undergraduate Student, Computer Science
Amelia Wolf, Assistant Professor, Integrative Biology
Julia York, Doctoral Candidate, Department of Integrative Biology

Undergraduate Associations and Groups

Black and Latinx Advocacy Council

College of Natural Sciences Undergraduate Education

UTNSC Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee

Natural Sciences Council

Out in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (oSTEM)


Gender Minorities in Physics

Department of Physics

Association of Black Computer Scientists (ABCS)






Department of Computer Science

Hispanic Association of Computer Scientists (HACS)

Department of Computer Science


Department of Computer Science

Women in Computer Science (WiCS)

Department of Computer Science

Women in Natural Sciences

College of Natural Sciences 

Graduate Student and Postdoc Associations and Groups


Department of Astronomy

Inclusivity, Diversity, Equity and Accountability (IDEA) Task Force

Department of Chemistry

Mathematicians of Color Alliance of Texas (MOCAT)

Department of Mathematics

Minorities in Biological Research

Department of Integrative Biology

Queer Graduate Student Association


Scientists Against Racism in Natural and Engineering Sciences (SARDINES)

Interdisciplinary Life Sciences (ILS) Graduate Programs

Student Parent Organization


Women in Physics

Department of Physics